top of page

So what's up with that logo?

It's a pretty cool story, actually. Waaay back 'round 2007ish, I was going through my initial branding phase. I'd already had my name, Somnium, for quite awhile. Now I was going through the hell of hashing a logo. I must've scoped 6k fonts, looking at S's. Found one, used it for a bit.

Enter the graphic design phase, tackling all my digital and print media. I was using antiquated (though still useful!) Photoshop 7, browsing and downloading a bunch of free brushes. Among them was a crop circle brush that derailed my attention from my budding business, because i LOVE crop circles.

I IMMEDIATELY knew this was the one. First of all, when rotated, it looks like an "S"... Secondly, it looks like a jester hat, which jives perfectly with the meaning of Somnium: dream, daydream, vision; foolishness, nonsense, whimsy.

ShaZAM.

Few months after my new logo became a part of me, I decided to look it up, its actual origin. Not an easy task, as I had nothing to go on but the image itself. I worked Google weary trying to find it~ to the point I was starting to doubt its existence. Finally found it buried in images on an obscure fansite:

This fabulous work of mathematics was discovered in Sompting, West Sussex, England... ON MY BIRTHDAY. Thassright. In the early morning of June 3rd, 2002.

The synchronicities, the kismet, just couldn't be more meaningful. I just marvel at how the universe works out. Each and every day!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page